I don’t have a smartphone. I only have an old Samsung mobile that can only call and text — a dumb phone, if you will. But it works for me. I don’t have a car either so I ride a van for hire on the way home from work everyday.

One day, while inside the van, I noticed that all passengers (those that I can see from my seat, at least) were looking down on their smartphones. Some were watching YouTube videos while others were scrolling their Facebook news feed. Scroll, scroll, like.

It dawned on me that I was actually at an advantage. Here are some awesome reasons.

  • If a rainbow appears or something out of the ordinary happens, I will be the first (and maybe the only) witness.
  • I can pick my nose without being judged. This requires subtle hand moves, but practice makes perfect.
  • I can roll my eyes in irritation (without being seen!) when the person in front of me switches to another video. Hey, I was still watching that cat video!
  • I can tell how bad is the dandruff problem of the man in front of me, if I really focus.
  • I can lip-sync to the van’s music without looking like an idiot.

And most importantly, I can see how the clouds seem to follow the van, making me think that there has to be an angel on one of those clouds, looking after me.

So yeah, I don’t have a smartphone. I don’t have a car. But I have a pen. I have an apple. And I have a cloud hovering over me.

3 thoughts on “I Have A Cloud

Leave a Reply

