I have been struggling with my daily devotions for the past few months. Well, to be honest, I have been struggling with it for years and years. There are months when I’m so dedicated to it. I wake up early to be with God – read a chapter of the Bible, meditate on it, and talk to God. And then life happens and I’d miss out on my daily devotions from time to time, until I totally stop doing it for weeks.

And then life happens again – problems arise, or depression sets in – and I’d realize that I need to spend time alone with God again. It’s a cycle that I want to stop. I want to always be on top of this, not up and then down, up and then down. I want to spend time with God alone everyday of every month of every year until God calls me back.

Do I really need to spend time alone with God?

I mean, I go to church and worship God on Sundays. I attend bible studies weekly. Matthew 14:23 says, After he had dismissed them, he went up on a mountainside by himself to pray. Later that night, he was there alone.”

Even Jesus needed to spend time alone with God the father. How much more mere humans like me? So yeah, I need to restart my daily devotions and I pray that God will help me sustain it.

For the past weeks, I have been following Joyce Meyer’s daily devotions and reflecting on the verses and her posts. And this is what I’ll continue to do. Hopefully, I’ll be able to post my daily reflections here.

(Featured image from http://rmzhanxian.com/.)

Leave a Reply

